• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

EVOL X RC2 on RT Viper

Team Lazy

Extreme
Country
Canada
Snowmobile
Viper XTX
Bravo 250
I'm new to Yamaha, just coming off a Renegade 137, and had Snocross front suspension on it. They are pretty killer shocks as many know, and about 18.5" eye to eye. What I am wondering, is do I sell them or give them a shot on my 2014 Viper XTX? More to the point, any reason they won't work? I think the eye to eye is 18.6" on the Viper so I'm cautiously optimistic. I just can't bare to sell them! But if they're useless then I will. Any input is welcome, including starting points for settings. There's only about 7 million ways to get these things wrong.

That would be sad really, trading those shocks essentially for a a 2 up seat! Wow.

Well, apparently these aren't as popular with Yamaha as they are with Doo. I have guys lined up trying to buy them off me, but I really want to try them. So, I removed the F3's to do some comparisons and see if I could get lucky and have a simple bolt in. Why would I think that might happen??? Hellz no.

For the record, the Float 3' are LONG. As in I was talking to a Fox service guy and he figured the Evol X's would be too long. Uh uh. F3's came in at just under 19.5", and the Evol X at 18.75. Definitely worth a try for me I think.

So now the problem is the aluminum bushings. The Evols will not fit on the Viper as is, I need to remove/replace/alter those bushings. I need to first remove the bushings, and then I'll see if the bushing from the Float 3's fit. Fortunately Fox has a good instructional on their website, mine are the 2 piece reducer:
http://www.ridefox.com/help.php?m=bike&id=251

It would appear I need to lose about 1/4" total.
Float 3:

Evol X: