• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Need skis ASAP??

back country

Veteran
We have a ton of snow up here at the moment and on my last ice fishing trip I finally saw the problems with the venture lite stock skis. front end was buried all the time creating lots of snow and slush in side and in between the panels which soon froze and created other problems which is another story. Looking for ski options that will keep that front end up in the air. Don't do much trail riding and even when I do it's not like this machine is a speed demon so not too concerned with trail performance. Any opinions on an inexpensive ski or possibly ski skin maybe?? (I have never used them before)
Also best place to order from as I'm up here in canada although I can get things shipped to the border which is only an hour away. Thoughts?

That was a concern for me here last season. The least expensive option was the Yamaha ski skins. Easy installation using the original wear bars and a few rivets. A huge difference in floatation. Front end is always higher than the back in our deep powder now. Steering at any speed is slower, if that is possible. At the slowest speeds, as in just moving, it turns nicely without the front sliding sideways.

Yamaha mountain skis are a good choice as well. has a more agressive keel and is much wider than stock. it cost my brother $233.00 Canadian for the tubes, spacers, nuts, bolts and ski bottoms at local dealer. carbides, loops and the rest of the hardware should be on your stock skis.

let me know and I can look up all the part #'s if you want to go this way.

Wow, really that cheap? I was going to suggest some Slydog 8" Powderhounds but those are pricey at about $400 with carbides and mounts, not including shipping.