• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Snowmobile trail maps & smart phone

Firewood Bandit

Veteran
Country
USA
Snowmobile
2008 Yamaha Nytro
I am not technically savvy but my wife got me a smart phone against my wishes. Apparently it does a ton of stuff, none of which interested me until now.

So can this contraption be used for navigating? It's an LG 4g.

Anyone ,Anyone...... LOL

Let me ask my 14yr old. I'm sure she will know how. :p:D
When I get a new phone and I have to ask my kids to program the dang thing up:o|

I downloaded maps into my Garmin a few years ago. Still trying to figure out how to do it again 4 years later.

What kind of smart/dumb phone did she get ya?

Anyone ,Anyone...... LOL

Let me ask my 14yr old. I'm sure she will know how. :p:D
When I get a new phone and I have to ask my kids to program the dang thing up:o|

I downloaded maps into my Garmin a few years ago. Still trying to figure out how to do it again 4 years later.

What kind of smart/dumb phone did she get ya?

As I said originally, I didn't ask for this thing. I was perfectly happy with a terrorist approved Tracphone that I use about 3 min. a month.

The phone is an LG 4G phone. It does all kinds of crap including linking with the router in the house.

Google play store polaris snowmobile trail maps also works offline gps.

Download the Polaris Ride Command App from the Play Store, its free and works great. I bought a mount to hang the phone on my handlebars. Get a plug in adapter for your power outlet, hook the phone up to keep it charged and away you go. To go with the Polaris App, I'll download the local trail maps from the county websites of where I'm riding and when you combine this all, it's pretty hard to get lost. Have fun.

+1 on the Polaris ride commander. Very nice app.