• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Upper A-arm play?

Yannie

Pro
Country
Canada
Snowmobile
2010 Yamaha Nytro RTX
What kind of play if any should the upper a-arms have?

2009 RTX

just do the bushings and be done! if they are doing there job right and not wore out no play should be there except the rotation obv.

I'm new to the Nytro as wll. Does the front sub-frame have to come off to remove the a-arms?

I replaced mine before I even drove the sled. Yamaha dealer sells oilite bushings now, or various other vendors carry them as well. Remove all the plastic side panels and nose cone piece. Turn out the bolts on the a-arms. Can't remember which ones, but one has nuts welded so you just turn out the bolts and the other you need to hold the nuts with a wrench. Old plastic bushings come out with a small drill bit to cut them and then I used a flat screw driver or small chisel to punch the crappy plastic bushings out. Used a big C-clamp to press in the new oilites. Took a little time, but shouldn't have to do that again for a very long time.

I replaced mine before I even drove the sled. Yamaha dealer sells oilite bushings now, or various other vendors carry them as well. Remove all the plastic side panels and nose cone piece. Turn out the bolts on the a-arms. Can't remember which ones, but one has nuts welded so you just turn out the bolts and the other you need to hold the nuts with a wrench. Old plastic bushings come out with a small drill bit to cut them and then I used a flat screw driver or small chisel to punch the crappy plastic bushings out. Used a big C-clamp to press in the new oilites. Took a little time, but shouldn't have to do that again for a very long time.

If you can't find a big c-clamp, a threaded rod with nut/washer on either end works great!