• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Yamaha 120 HP and 150 HP 4 stroke now available for aircraft

Slush Monster

Expert
Hey... Thought this might be of intrest to you guys. I am an ultralight aircraft pilot and just found out that The Yamaha 4 stroke 120 vector engine and the 150fi apex engine will now be available for light sport aircraft. Up until now Rotax has had a corner on the ultralight aircraft engine market. These Yamaha engines are superior in every way to what Rotax has to offer for ultralight engines. Rotax has had little compitition in this market with there dated 2 stroke offerings like the fan cooled 503 2 stroke with a ($3500) price tag, or there newer 912 4 stroke with a ($12,000) price tag. Talk abought price gouging. None of the newer Rotax engines are considered reliable enough for aircraft. The availabilitty of the Yamaha engines for aircraft is HUGE news for the ultralight people and BAD news for Rotax. They have along way to go to catch what yamaha has to offer for 4 stroke technology. Very shortly there will no longer be any more 2 stroke aircraft. An aircraft engine must be near bullet proof like the Yamaha has proven. The 2 strokes are just not cutting it. So you 4 stroke guys can be assured you have one of the best if not the best light engines available spinning under the hoods of you new sleds.
:4STroke: :Rockon:

Attachments

• air 013 (2).jpg
    air 013 (2).jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 955
  • Picture 003 (2).jpg
    Picture 003 (2).jpg
    67.5 KB · Views: 585

The Ultralight market is a good fit for the 120 & 150's. Glad to hear Yamaha is a competetor with Rotax for civilian use applications.