• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

2005 Vector Carb Cleaning

Exciterfan

Country
Canada
Snowmobile
Yamaha Viper
Are there any resources on this site to help me clean the carbs on my 05 Vector that I just picked up?? I have lots of experience doing my SXRs and my Viper, but this is my first attempt at diving into a 4-stroke. I'd like to know where to start and what to watch out for.

Thanks in advance.

I don't know about resources but when I had a carb issues on my Rage all I did was remove and clean the pilot jets. The pilot jets have really small hole in them on the 4 strokes. I didn't even remove the carbs from the sled. Just removed the float bowels and pulled he pilot jets. G.B.

Use the "SEARCH" option @ the top of the page and type in what your looking for. You'll find a whole world of subject matter, you have to weed through it. ;)! It's there.

Ditto what Gone Blue said - the pilot jets are the main concern. My 05' went several years without issue but probably due to the change is gas quality has required cleaning the last two years (rough idle). I just did it today to get it over with for the coming season. They looked Ok though. Funny, I was going to start a topic about this - holding a pilot jet up to a light and looking into the end - it doesn't look like a round hole - is this an optical illusion? The passage seems to have an odd shape but the shape does not rotate if I rotate the jet - must be my eyes but would be fun to know if anyone else sees the same thing.