• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Apex things to look for when purchasing used.

Brandon Doering

Veteran
Country
USA
Snowmobile
2002 Yamaha SRX 700
2008 Yamaha Apex GT
Hey guys, new to the forum as a member. I am in the market to buy a used APEX. Looking at the RTX. I have owned several sleds and my last was an 02 SRX 700. My question is at what mileage do the drive bearings start going and how can I check them even if someone says they have had them changed? Also what are other things to look for besides the basics. I'm new to the four stroke sleds but have ridden many and love them. I only get to take like 2-3 trips a year so it won't get ridden constantly. Thanks all!

if not serviced the drive axle bearing on the speedo side can go out every other year and can take out the speedometer pick up sensor. you need to re-grease that one every year or replace. the jack shaft bearing behind the secondary clutch will go a little longer because it is not getting showered with snow but should also be re-greased yearly too when you are in there for the speedo bearing. the rest of them are good for around 10,000 miles or even more. to check them and or re-grease them you pop out the shields/covers on the bearings and look for rust use a needle greaser like you use on a chain saw bar to repack after cleaning.
exhaust donuts are the only other major repair for them they need attention every 5000 miles or so to prevent greater damage to other components like the header pipes. the rest is basic sled stuff.