• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

boondocker turbo apex... this can't be normal!

NB-Snowgoer

I'm new to the boosted sled scene but have been involved with boosted cars for some time. Bought a boondocker turbo'ed apex the end of last season and never got a chance to tune it or drive it. I'm a flatlander and I believe this sled was used in the mountains. Drove it shortly last saturday and acording to the way it was acting and a/f gauge it was severely rich. Would misfire under load, a/f was 14.5 -15 to 1 when starting out indicating raw fuel dumpng in exhaust, and then a/f would go to -10 to 10.5 after cleaned out a bit. Decided to go with boondockers "recommended starting out" fuel map tonight, and I would go from there. Boost is set at 12psi. head shim about 9-9.4 , on 91 octane. I am trying to get a good trail map before adding better fuel. Drove about 4 miles a/f staying between 10.5- 11.7, varying throttle, and load, stopped and header pipe and part of turbo was cherry red. It has heat wrap on it and you could still almost see through the pipe! The sled worked flawlessly, no breaking down or misfires. If it wasn't for the extremely hot pipe and turbo I was going to lean the map out to achieve around 11.8-12 to 1. So my ? is... is this normal? What should I be looking for? Is it fuel? Faulty a/f sensor? Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated. And yes, I have have spent countless hours searching this forum for info on boondocker turbos. Thanks.

I know that usually 15-1 usually indicates lean, but sometimes if you have a lot of raw fuel going by your a/f sensor, it will show lean even though it is rich. It will usually start to change the other way as it gets cleaned out or engine warms up.

Here's the rule of thumb for tuning a boosted sled.

AFRs at:
Idle: 14.0-14.7
Engagement: 13.5