• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

brad4639, Custom built tunnel. Nytro home build

brad4639

Extreme
Hey guys, so I spent the last 6 months or so building my Nytro from the ground up. Thought I'd share my Nytro project with you.

Background: Im a 26 y/o CNC machinist and I also dabble a bit in fabricating and welding. Last year I traded my Pro RMK for a beat up nytro plus enough cash to make the deal worth it.

It was originally a short track that someone else converted (poorly). It had an early model skinz seat that when they were first made the tabs were too small.. resulting in a caved in, dented stock tunnel. Still a little upset with skinz who stopped returning my emails regarding this! I also dont really like the way extensions look.

Any ways, long story short, I decided to try to design and build my own tunnel. Took a few pics along the way.

How it looked when I got it.

This is where the seat sat on the tunnel. Not terrible but I didn't like it.

I put 2 miles on it before tearing it apart.

Took a saturday afternoon with a few buddies and a case of beer to get here.

Heres the design I came up with after countless hours of measuring and redesiging with the help of a drafter I work with. Everything was done on SolidWorks.
I was thinking (at the time) that maybe I should have a company name in case I ever wanted to sell one. So i came up with Rider Designs. Doubt i'll ever go down that road though.

I broke my phone most of the machining detail pictures so you'll get the short version of what I did.
I used a HAAS CNC router to cut the tunnel out of .100 sheet Alum. Before I ran the program to drill all the holes and cut the shape, I first made a program to "polish" the material with a 2" 3M buffing bad spinning about 10k RPM.

These are rear the tunnel supports