1. We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.
    Dismiss Notice

Fuel pump issues

Discussion in 'Phazer & Phazer MTN General Talk' started by Jimphazer, May 21, 2020.


  1. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    Bought a 08 phazer as soon as it got cold it did the relay freeze up. Warmed it up, would work again, would freeze up as per what looks normal. Parked at the cottage This time when trying to start relay seemed fine had volts to pump but pump wouldn’t run. Pulled pump jumped it to a battery direct and wouldn’t run ordered new pump and 3 new red cold weather relays checked new pump with jumper ran perfectly. Checked voltage to the pump connector and when key turned on I only get voltage for about 1-2 seconds then nothing. Any ideas?
     
  2.  

  3. Mooseman

    Mooseman Lifetime Member Lifetime VIP Member VIP Member

    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Greely, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    '07 Venture MP (gone)
    '07 Phazer FX (gone)
    '09 Phazer GT (son's)
    '10 RS Venture GT (My current ride)
    '10 Nytro FX (son's)
    If it does that just when you turn the key to run, that's normal as that's the system priming. Once you go to crank, it will kick in again. Does it crank and start?
     
    YukonMP likes this.
  4. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    I will try that cranking it, but I can’t hear the pump running even to prime the fuel system. I will let you know how it goes tomorrow.
     
  5. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
     
  6. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    Is there a minimum battery voltage for the signal to get to the relay. Could my battery just be crappy?
     
  7. Mooseman

    Mooseman Lifetime Member Lifetime VIP Member VIP Member

    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Greely, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    '07 Venture MP (gone)
    '07 Phazer FX (gone)
    '09 Phazer GT (son's)
    '10 RS Venture GT (My current ride)
    '10 Nytro FX (son's)
    Yes, but yours is able to crank so I doubt that's it. Just be sure to keep it charged up during these tests.

    And just to be sure, you did check ALL the fuses? Not just visually but with a meter?
     
  8. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    Sure a lot nicer checking stuff when it isn't 25 below. I will check the fuses with a meter next I only did the visual.
     
  9. yamahas

    yamahas Tech Advisor Staff Member Tech Advisor Lifetime VIP Member VIP Member

    Messages:
    3,566
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2009 Phazer RTX
    Just to confirm, the pump is running on the bench with voltage applied, and you get voltage to the plug. When you plug it in and try it the pump does not run?
     
  10. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    That is correct I am almost 100% sure if I put power direct to pump right now the sled would start. I should test the slots where the relay plugs in and see if I have a good signal ?
     
  11. yamahas

    yamahas Tech Advisor Staff Member Tech Advisor Lifetime VIP Member VIP Member

    Messages:
    3,566
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2009 Phazer RTX
    How do the sockets look in the plug? Are they dirty or corroded?

    You might have been able to get contact with a meter but hopefully it may be as simple as not be getting a good contact to the pump?
     
  12. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    Connection is super clean no dirt or corrosion grime.
     
  13. Mooseman

    Mooseman Lifetime Member Lifetime VIP Member VIP Member

    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Greely, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    '07 Venture MP (gone)
    '07 Phazer FX (gone)
    '09 Phazer GT (son's)
    '10 RS Venture GT (My current ride)
    '10 Nytro FX (son's)
    Instead of a meter, try using a bulb that will have some current draw. Sometimes a meter will read voltage but any real current draw craps out.

    One possibility is the contacts inside the connector got spread out and don't contact the pin. That happens sometimes when a probe that is too big is inserted in a connector and loses tension.
     
  14. Jimphazer

    Jimphazer Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lloydminster
    Country:
    Canada
    Snowmobile:
    2008 Yamaha Phazer
    That sounds like a possibility, I will check with a good old 12 volt bulb tester. See where I do have power.
     
    Mooseman likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice