• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

How Much Is Too Much

Katannilik1

Extreme
Country
Canada
Snowmobile
2005 VK540, 2010 VKPro, 2014 Viper
Hi everyone I am new to TY here but thanks for having me. My question is how many studs can be fit in the centre of my 08 Multipurpose track. I live in the Arctic and this machine will be used for heavy hauling. Our trail conditions is concrete like snow covering the tundra and frozen rivers and lakes. Our area is fairly Hilly and I do not need to make any sharp corners, no trees to worry about here. I will be re-gearing the machine to allow more use full torque to the track at starting and slower speeds. I am thinking somewhere in the area of 228 studs, four per window all in double plates. Is it true that a double plate supports studs better and will decrease the risk of pulling studs? Thank You for any of your input on this.

Double plates do help but you only really need 1 per HP. Id do more like 4 then 2 then 4 and you would only need them up the middle.

Thanks for the reply MrSled. I understand the 1/HP theory, but is that from a performance aspect. I do not need speed performance I need hook and drive at slower to moderate trail speeds. the weight of the rotating mass is not a concern either, due to my operating speeds being 50-60kph and less. Again our snow is concrete hard and frozen rivers and lakes.

Thanks for the reply MrSled. I understand the 1/HP theory, but is that from a performance aspect. I do not need speed performance I need hook and drive at slower to moderate trail speeds. the weight of the rotating mass is not a concern either, due to my operating speeds being 50-60kph and less. Again our snow is concrete hard and frozen rivers and lakes.