• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

How to service primary clutch on 06 Apex GT

jpilk99

Pro
Country
USA
Snowmobile
2006 Yamaha Apex GT
After getting my sled (just bought on Tuesday) up and running, I noticed that the primary clutch is not moving or engaging the belt. I'm trading texts with the person who sold it to me and he said, "you probably need to service the clutches". I've never done this before and not finding anything on this for the Apex. Any thoughts?

For what it's worth, he said the previous/original owner installed a clutch kit and I see that the secondary is a "Super Torquer". Not sure if anything was done to the primary.

Thanks for any suggestions/guidance.

Jay

that is a good guide on how to do it. i tend to blow them out with compressed air a couple times a season to cut down on the wear from belt dust.

Stoopid question, but, when I first go to remove the bolt holding the primary clutch in, I assume I'm turning counter clockwise; as the clutch spins clockwise during operation?

Also, I thought I read somewhere that the primary is under pressure so to be very careful taking it off. I didn't think that was the case. Any comments (jokes at my expense) are appreciated. Merry Christmas.

Jay