• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Muffler Decibel Test take-two - Stock, TD SuperQuiet, SanDale Hyperflow

Beerman

I can actually hear myself getting fatter
Website
www.loyalshepherd.com
Country
USA
Snowmobile
Sidewinder LTX-SE
YOUTUBE
arttyszka
So first, I have to admit that I have a chemical imbalance which makes me always want something even marginally better than what I already have, which is the primary cause of why at Haydays, I decided I needed the SanDale 3" Hyperflow when I have a perfectly good TD SuperQuiet. Allen Ulmer had the SanDale Hyperflow at his booth and I instantly wanted one.

After reading NOS-Pro's fantastic work with the Evo Magnum last Fall, I thought I'd do my best to contribute something to this community. I don't have access to a decibel meter to verify the accuracy of the app (db Meter) I got for my iPhone 7, so take it for what it's worth, but I did base line the stock muffler.

I tried to replicate NOS-Pro's test as best I could using the WI DNR criteria. I placed my phone 48" off the ground on a cardboard box, 159.5" away from the center of the exhaust outlet. The sled was on grass to minimize any echo or amplification from asphalt, but was only 5' away from my driveway, so that could have been a factor. I ran the test at idle (~1500 rpm) and also at the DNR required 2500 rpm, although I exceeded 2500 rpm in every test, some went as high as 2800 rpm, so there are plenty of inconsistent variables in my test.

IMG_3410.jpg IMG_3411.jpg IMG_3409.jpg