• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Novice Clutch Guy Here

markt111

Expert
Country
USA
Snowmobile
all Yamahas
I have a Viper RTX SE, bought it stock with just an Ulmer clutch kit, I have added a can headers and PCV (all from SLP) I am now hitting the limiter consistently, I reached out to Allen and asked him what to do, he said "Add 2 thin washers to the tips of the weights. This will bring your RPM down 200-250 rpm."

that sounds logical, now I know this will sound stupid but how do I do this? I have no clutch work experience or instructions as the kit came with the sled, I hate to keep bothering him as I know he is very busy. FYI, I am a pretty good wrench just have never worked on sled clutches.

googled and searched here, cant find instructions on performing the adjustments... does someone have a copy of the instructions?

FYI, I do have the spare parts that came with the kit

Attachments

• 6186EBDA-6B60-494B-BFF7-1322B9272136.png
    6186EBDA-6B60-494B-BFF7-1322B9272136.png
    400.8 KB · Views: 155
You can either pull your primary off the sled or do it on. Unbolt the pins holding the weights on and pull them out.If you take primary out you can just use a ratchet clamp to compress the primary spring to get at the weights.

MrSled has a great video posted for installing an Ulmer clutch kit. He used an Apex in the video, but the clutch is the same as yours. Do a search and watch, it explains everything.