• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Yamaha VK Pro 2006 Dead Ignitor

Yamasaurus

Country
Canada
Snowmobile
2006 Yamaha VK10L
Hello
I am a newbie to the forum. Here is my story of despair.
I bought my VK in 2015, roughly 4400km. In early 2016 the engine died at our camp. Would crank but not fire. After checking the easy usual items (I am a licenced auto, truck/coach mechanic), I took it to our local Yamaha dealer. They installed a new Ignitor. I don't think they did any other work or testing because the labour bill was too low (minimum charge). Worked fine for 4 more years.
Just before Christmas this year, I took a few rides around the house after completing preseason maintenance, worked fine, ready to go for when the grandkids showed up for the holidays.
It wouldn't fire on startup. I smelled gas, so went to change plugs and found the center coil burnt and lying on it's side. Upon replacing the coil, the engine would, but not fire. Codes ER-1, ER-2 came up on the annunciator. Yamaha said the Ignitor was burnt out. I have a Yamaha Service manual and followed the trouble matrix, and then some, all checked out. I replaced all the coils because the other 2 were outside the Yamaha resistance spec. I installed the new Ignitor ($1004 Cdn) and it cranked and fired. After the warmup lamp went out, I reved it to 5000 rpm to check the charging voltage (14.4V). On the return to idle, it slowly died, and never fired again. The annunciator give me the same burnt out codes. The total timeline for this Ignitor was about 5 minutes after the warmup, sled on a stand.
Has anyone ever had or heard of this kind of failures? I'm kind of gun shy to just throw another Ignitor at it at $1004 a pop if you know what I mean.