• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Modular or MX-type Helmet?

MI_Sledder

I am relatively new to the sport, and have ridden 3 seasons with a BRP helmet. I can honestly say that I have never fogged-up the shield, but my ears and jaw ache after a few hours of riding, and I'm getting burned-out on all the clap-trap to take the thing on and off. I have tried a size larger, which was the worst of both worlds in that it was loose but still hurt my ears and jaw.

I have been curious about trying an MX helmet and goggles, but have been reluctant, thinking that there is no way it could be wind proof. But I see a lot of guys using MX hemets.

So what are the key points, regarding an MX helmet / goggle set-up that will be fog-free and frostbite free. I ride groomed trail in the UP of MI, anywhere from slow trail speeds to 80-ish when it's "reasonable and prudent."

Any (constructive) tips you might have are appreciated.

I tried one last year. I didnt like it. It was cold, - but man it was light. I may try another one this winter, a different model.

I got an HJC for both wife and i with elec shield. No issues what so ever, nice and warm.

She has a mondular and loves it. She gets slightly clausterphobic (sp) when not riding so when we stop to talk or BS with others she can pop it open and feel fin, no issues when she rides though.

I still use my 5yr old HJC CL-12 with a heated shield and love it, no fog easy on/off and very comfortable. My father has a MX helmet and goggles and swears by it but every time we stop he swears while trying to get it unfrozen from the ice build-up on his goat-tee.

Plus I don't trust the durability of a MX style helmet, my CL-12 is DOT approved and very strong. Those plastic 1lb MX helmets feel like they will crack along with your skull in a good crash.