• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Phazer needle bearing steering upgrade

Country
USA
Snowmobile
Two 2010 Phazer GT's
I'm a newbie on this site and did a ton of reading already, LOT's of great info to be found! Thanks to all who contributed.
I purchased a couple 2010 Phazer GT models not too long ago and did my usual "disassemble every last thing and start over" to both sleds. Even though they both looked great I found countless things worn out or altered by previous owners. Nothing I didn't already expect, they're used sleds after all!
The steering system was horribly loose, far far worse than any clapped out Arctic Cat from the 90's that I've owned. I was going to go the route of the UP Bushman upgrade bushings but due to time constraints I ended up just designing and building my own unique "fix".
I decided to go with a needle bearing arrangement rather then a bushing. I had an extra steering bell crank from a parts sled I purchased and ended up using the steel tube and bearing out of it. Once I realized this could work I purchase thee more of these off ebay from a seller for super cheap. I removed the tube from the bell crank with a cut off disk, then cleaned it up and shortened it on a lathe. The steering idler arm got bored out with a step bit on the drill press. This worked out perfect and the tubes just pressed in without a whole lot of fuss. I then welded them up, cleaned up the insides a little with a Dremel tool and pressed in the needle bearings. The bearings are really nice since they incorporate an o-ring on one end to keep grease in and moisture out.