• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Taking my XTX to the mountains.

IFlyEm

Expert
Hey,

I am looking to take a week trip out to Wyoming and will be taking my XTX. I will be doing a track swap and am open to recommendations on which track would best suit me.

Thanks!

Go bigger, 2.25 or 2.5 drop down to a 7 tooth extro and gear down. Ya might have to do some clutch work also but I'm no expert. pm turk he's the guru with the answers or ask in the mountain forum

get some wider skis, simmons gen 1 or 2s or some c & a pros. Swapping drivers sounds like way too much work just for 1 trip out west. Pretty sure you can run a 2 inch without swapping anything. Just have to remove your tunnel protectors.

If you want to keep your tunnel protectors, just get the cobra, its way better than the ripsaw. way way better.

Does anyone know if the notched challenger will fit with the tunnel protectors still in? Cause that would be the easiest, I might need to buy one of those.

This track here http://www.tracksusa.com/challenger2.html

IFlyEm, The quick and easy upgrade would be a 2" 15" wide 144" Camo Challenger. You can still use your stock 9 tooth drivers, with plenty of clearance at the front heat exchanger.
Only have to remove the tunnel protectors.
If you decide to go with a 2 1/4" or 2 1/2", then I'd recommend dropping to 8 tooth drivers. 144" tracks use 2.52" pitch drivers.
9 tooth 2.52" pitch drivers are 7.219" dia.
8 tooth 2.52" pitch drivers are 6.417" dia
7 tooth 2.52" pitch drivers are 5.615" dia.

BTW I highly recommend a set of mountain skis. Makes a big difference in front end floatation ;)!