• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

06 VENTURE clutch noise

Just Yamin'

I'm new to YAMAHA . yes I was bit slow at driving the best but none the least I do love this sled.I put over 900 mi on it and my clutch is rather noisy, some guys are telling me get used to it. This is a sound that non yamers grinch at or laugh at. Is this normal? :yam: javascript:emoticon(':yam:')
Yamaha Rule

Since you have the '06 and the clutch fix was supposed to be in it then yes get used to the noisy clutch. I had my clutch updated at it has progressively gotten more noisy especially after it is warmed up.

Sounds like you need a clutch shim kit.

Most 05 RS series sleds had clutch rattles.

This was a Yamaha Update Bulletin item for those that had clutch rattles.

Give your dealer a call, he should be able to install a clutch shim kit under warranty.

Either-way, it's worth having your clutch checked.

Hope this helps! ;)!

You won't notice the clutch rattle once you start wearing ear plugs or an Ipod to block out the track howl. :yam: In case you have not heard, twomorestrokes sled does not track howl. :D

I was talking to one of the factory guys at the Demo rides in Munising. I told him that my '06 Rage clutch was starting to rattle. He told me to take it to the dealer and they would put the '05 kit into it and if it continued they would then put a shim kit in it. I guess the bottom line is you dont have to put up with a noisy clutch. :D

Just Yamin', is your clutch making a rattling noise? Or is it making a whining noise?

Until I had the shim kit installed, I had the clutch rattle, but I would only hear it at idle.

I get the whining noise while riding and I just get used to it.

Grimm said:
Just Yamin', is your clutch making a rattling noise? Or is it making a whining noise?