• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

How hard is it to make your own trail then use that to route

kinger

VIP Member
Website
www.piergenius.com
Looking at a routable GPS setup with trails and ORVs, in some cases we have found these awesome little legal paths to drive but no one does and its not on the VVmapping or redpine mapping maps, if I have a nuvi or oregon 450 can I have it track my route for just that 10-20 mile stretch then when we head back late that night navigate to the destination using that track we just created earlier, ie no PC in between and not follow the entire exact track of the earlier route *ie 100 miles total and I only want to catch the 20 mile secret route?

Sorry I'm a GPS NEWB! I really wanted to go sledding without it to get off the grid, but the last few years our group cant remember where we are and we spend WAY TOO MUCH time looking at a map even at places we have ridden for years! LOL I just want it to be easy and I will lead keep the map looking to a minimum or eliminate it altogether!

you should be able to do it with the Oregon , most handheld ones can do it . check under, setting/track/track log, something like that . It should give you an option to start recording(at the beginning of trail) and you'd have to stop recording and the end and save and you should be able to reload only that section of trail.

If you have an iphone there is an app for that. Lol. Seriously there is. Its by polaris but it works really well. You can even check on snow depth and weather for the area. I have it and play with it every day. Shane

If you have an iphone there is an app for that. Lol. Seriously there is. Its by polaris but it works really well. You can even check on snow depth and weather for the area. I have it and play with it every day. Shane