• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

2003 rx1 primary clutch, weights and rollers

Brent nowland

Country
USA
Snowmobile
2003 rx1
Hello. I am shure this has been brought up or talked about a million times in this forum. I searched the forum and could not find it though.
I am new to the rx1 mountain le and the 4 stroke world with sleds.
The primary is bad so I need to do a primary on it. I have been told to go aftermarket since the stock one is bad. Is this true? If so does any one know where to get one. I am assuming the hole primary is bad. Spring weights and rollers and it is pitted on both sides. The secondary looks good though. I do some trail ridding and love to climb. So looking to see if any one can give a rookie some good advice. Calling my local Yamaha dealer has lead me to here.
I have went to eBay and found some but I do not get when they say uncalibrated.
I appreciate any one who could help enlighten me and point me in the right direction.

I would recommend getting a hold of Travis at Barn of Parts who parts out Yamaha snowmobiles before getting a used part off eBay. He's a site sponsor/vendor and have used him numerous times in the past for good quality used parts and probably has a complete primary for you. As for the recommendation you received for going aftermarket, I'm willing to bet the person meant to go with an aftermarket clutch kit that has clutch weights that can be tuned (ie. add/subtract weight), possibly rollers, primary spring, secondary helix, and secondary spring rather than purchase a complete aftermarket primary as that is what most do including myself. As for an uncalibrated primary, I suspect that is most likely a primary with no clutch weights and/or spring.