• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Carb or FI Vector

musselmark said:
I am looking for a used vector 2008 and up, should I be looking for Carb or FI, what are the pros/cons

I have had zero issues with my carbed Vector, and although it was originally stated the FI's would get better fuel economy, I don't believe it to be true?

Carb mtce is one thing that you won't necessarily have with a FI but I run Sea-Foam regularily and have had no need for any carb mtce.

I have been riding with a friend for three years he has a fuel 10 vector ltx runs great. My 05 rage and my 06 venture alway get 1 to 2 more mpg than the FI gets. The fuel injected sled has many other advantages. No green carbs can use 10% enthol with no problems and higher top end.

Dara said:
My 12 Vector is a POS

Barely 12 mpg where my 06 rage got 18 and about 5 mph slower

I'd have to say you have something seriously wrong if your mileage is really that bad. Track too tight/misaligned, brakes dragging, FI problem, ignition problems, etc. because that is just not close to the 'normal' everyone else is seeing.

P.S Don't live with it - FIX it.

I owned both

I really like the fuelie, easier starts and no worries about a vapor lock and gummed up carbs. I don't get better fuel economy, about the same but it is a different motor. I get 17-18 American mpg riding pretty hard but on trail.

VT_BluYamaha54 said:
Dara said:
My 12 Vector is a POS

I'd have to say you have something seriously wrong if your mileage is really that bad. Track too tight/misaligned, brakes dragging, FI problem, ignition problems, etc. because that is just not close to the 'normal' everyone else is seeing.

P.S Don't live with it - FIX it.[/quot

I would like to fix it but I have no dealer.