• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Help with suspension

jtimm793

Country
USA
Snowmobile
2008 Yamaha Apex LTX GT
Newbie here... looking for help adjusting rear suspension. Bought my son a 2008 Apex LTX GT. He’s 18 and about 190. The guy we bought it from was a big man weighing an estimated 350 or more. I rode his sled for the first time last week and it didn’t feel like there was any suspension! How do I adjust it? I’m a visual guy so pictures help. Not looking for what settings, just how to change the way it’s currently setup. Thanks!

odds are there is a big boy spring on it at minimum if the rider was as big as you say. might need a re valve for your son's weight as well.

there are some used ones up in the calssifieds from guys with vectors that up graded to different set ups that might be easyer if you need it quick.

A 5.0 Big Boy Multi rate spring from Barn of Parts would be perfect for him. I run mine on the second clip. Very nice ride.
Have that shock look at as maim stated.

Since you're a visual guy, I would suggest viewing the PDF version of the owner's manual for your sled as it will show the various ways to adjust the suspension. Additionally, if you have the GT like I do, you also have the electronic control rear Ohlins shock that can also be adjusted; manual will show that as well. I also agree that a big boy spring was most likely added as even I added one but weighed much less than your previous owner. Here's a link to Yamaha's website where you can view the PDF owners manual; just to have to specify machine details:

https://library.ymcapps.net/library/om/app/index.html?baseCode=6150&langId=02