• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Apex chewing belts. Pics enclosed

rangermaxx

I'll try to make this as short as possible. 2010 Apex LTX GT. Machine has worked well until now, at 7200km (~4500 miles) my sled started acting strange upon take off. So I take the old belt off and it has about a 2-3 inch chunk out of it in one spot. I think nothing of it because hey the belt has over seven thousand km on it. I swap it out , ride home, both the clutch sheaves looked good.

Next day, I go out for a short ride, machine works well. Load it back onto the trailer (the same way I have been loading it for 2 years now) and the belt just starts smoking with hardly any throttle applied as I am trying to creep it up maybe another foot onto the trailer. I have always loaded it the same way but today it was smoking a lot. I immediately stopped once the smoke started coming off the belt. I get the sled home, take it off the trailer and put it in the garage on a stand. I remove the new belt at this point (machine has 7600km on it now or ~4700miles) and the new belt has a similar sized bite out of the same spot and the edges seem glazed. It hasnt broke by any means but you can tell something is chewing on it. I cleaned up both clutch sheaves with a red scotch brite pad. There was a lot of rubber stuck to them so it took a while to remove it. I had cleaned them both up, put the *new* belt back on (the one with 400km), ran it for a few mins on the stand observing the clutches, both seemed to be working as they are supposed , but I dont know anything about clutches.