• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Cordless Heated Shield

cannondale27

Staff member
Vendor
I have this Micro Start boost pack that I have been carrying around for 2 seasons now. Love it. Works great. What do you guys think about running the heated shield for my helmet off it or the new smaller version? I am no electrician is the idea sound? I have a Rollover tether and will not give up heated shield. Too many cords attaching me to sled. Would be nice to have the shield cord going into my pocket hooked to this so I dont have to remove it everytime I get off sled. Maybe even mount it on helmet?
image.jpg

Just cobbled a cord together. Light on shield is lit so assume its working. Will leave it on to see how long it will run...

Polaris industries makes a cordless pack for heated shields also, I believe it is much smaller than the unit your are testing. The unit you are testing should last a very long time in comparison to what Poo has. The smaller unit from Anit-Gravity weighs a mere 6oz @ 6000mah or 6Ah should be much handier to use as it would nestle in your inside pocket a little nicer. Did you install a fuse to not burnout the element? I believe most corded heat shield cable installs are fused for a 2A draw. Don't melt your shield,lol!! Come to think of it the units in question have internal fused outlets at lower Ah/mah for charging cell phones and laptops etc. Are you using one of those outputs. Great idea Cannon!!

I was using the 2a outlet. Maybe a switch or resistor to limit output would help since this shield really puts out. Would like 8 hrs though.

edit. How hot did the shield get? Maybe reducing to a 1a fuse will double your time. See how the full charge goes first. What is the capacity of the unit you have? I think the xp-1 is 10,000mah? Good work.

Last edited: