• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Issue changing Hyfax

Country
USA
Snowmobile
2006 Rage
So I'm new to Yamahas but not new to sleds, have had all three other brands and I've always changed the hyfax by sliding them out a track window but on my Rage it really seams like the window just is not wide enough to. It could be that the hyfax are really worn out and have mushroomed some. Anyhow can you normally slide them out the window or do you have to pull the skid on these sleds?

Second issue is on one rail the screw that secures the hyfax had the head sheared off (as I said hyfax well worn) Didn't know this when I bought it. I tried using an easy out but it appears seized in there. Unfortunately the rail seams narrow as I can see the buldging of the threads for the hole on the sides. I'm thinking of just drilling it out all the way up through and put a nut on the top but I'm afraid its too narrow and will not be strong enough, any suggestions?

Thanks

~ Phil

The hyfax will fit thru the window with some force. I spray the hole with silicone spray and pry it out with a big flat screw driver as I roll the track. Once its hanging out then put the sled in reverse and ease on the throttle and it will peel like a banana.

As far as the broken bolt. I am sure it had loctite on it so you may need some heat on that to release.

Hi thanks I saw a video on someone doing the reverse trick I never heard of that seams like it could cause damage somewhere. So they will fit, Ill try forcing it and puting some lube on it. Id rather just pull them all the way out the windows, will try again and if cannot will attempt the reverse trick.