• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Grooming in Vermont with 08 VK Pro

air19

Pro
I am going to use this new topic to catalog my experiences grooming with a new '08 VK Pro here in northern Vermont.

As a brief background I have been grooming for nine years with a '99 Skandic SWT which served me well during that time. We have 25Km of cross country ski trails in rolling terrain ranging from 1000 ft to 1250 ft in elevation. There are a couple of good hills with about a 20 degree pitch.

I have been watching the 4 stroke development for some time now and finally decided this year that they have worked out the bugs and have all the necessary characteristics for every day grooming - good cooling capabilities, low range gearing, and good floatation/wide track. Based on my research the VK Pro and the Skandic SWT 800 are the best sleds out there for grooming.

Last week I purchased a VK Pro. I actually started a thread on the "dootalk" forum documenting my purchase decision and I got a lot of good answers to my questions from members of that forum. Here's the link to that thread - http://www.dootalk.com/forums/index.php ... pic=184820

Here's a couple of pictures of the VK Pro in the garage before I started grooming with it.

Attachments

• IMG_2955.JPG
    IMG_2955.JPG
    141.2 KB · Views: 515
  • IMG_2957.JPG
    IMG_2957.JPG
    161.6 KB · Views: 562

First Grooming Run

I spent 4 hours out on the trails today with the VK Pro pulling my TiddTech G2 groomer. I covered 40 kilometers doing two passes on most of the trails. It was right at freezing today - temperature between 30 and 32 degrees F. I have a great base on the trails since I have already groomed 13 times this year. We had 2 inches of wet snow on top of this solid base.