• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Plugs fouling out tech tip

yam177

TY 4 Stroke Master
Website
www.jbeurotech.com
Ok I am a Auto Tech by Trade so when my sled first fouled the plugs, the last thing I wanted was to take the tank off. SO just like a BMW v8 or Audi v6 that is prone to fouling plugs. If you remove the fuel pump connector and crank it over it will clean the cylinders out. Then just plug the pump back in and it fires right off.

Hope this helps!!

Great idea for a trail side fouling..... thanks for the tip..... my dealer also told me on these phazers, dont ever shut it off until it idles down to 1700 rpm or whatever your slow idle is...

Your dealer knows from experience that You cant change your plugs as fast as he can. he's had lots of practice because people dont listen and just call when there sled wont run after they moved it two feet to sweep the garage. ha ha Merry Christmas

i believe that its caused by the motor not being hot enough to burn the left over gas that injects after the spark turns off when u turn it off. atleast that was the answer polaris tech gave us at my old job for the FSTs. they had the same problem. they also came out with a new plug with a fatter ceramic tip around the electrode, almost filling in the entire tip of the plug. it was so that nothing could get up there and later drip down to the electrode after shut down.

Not 100% sure but I believe if you give it full throttle while cranking injectors will also not fire.Easy way to do it.Remember just because pump runs doesnt mean the injectors are allowing fuel into intake.

cannondale27 said:
Not 100% sure but I believe if you give it full throttle while cranking injectors will also not fire.Easy way to do it.Remember just because pump runs doesnt mean the injectors are allowing fuel into intake.