• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Bought 2006 RS Venture

bsamartin

Country
Canada
Snowmobile
2006 RS Venture
Hi,

I'm new to snowmobiling and I just bought a 2006 RS Venture with ~2000 km. This is a great site and I will definitely check the cam chain tensioner.

However, the seller had way too much oil in the tank as it was completely full. When I brought the sled home I vacuumed out the excess oil, and cleaned the air box (a bit of milky oil). The oil looks clean, but hopefully there isn't any major damage...is there anything else that I should check? From searching for similar posts, I will change the oil and check the inline filter to make sure it's not blocked.

Also, I just signed up for VIP so how do I request a service manual as I'm planning to check the compression (the manual would be helpful).

Any advice is appreciated

Thank you

welcome to the site!

did the oil smell like gas? with that low milage, i would look clean the carbs as well as it might have had a sunk float. pilots on those are bad for plugging in any case. a good cleaning would not hurt.

fuel filters are in the tank. usually i use coat hanger to fish them out and replace them.

btw check your pm's.

I'd change out the coolant. With only 2k km, it might still be the original 15 year old factory fill. Add a bottle of Water Wetter (or equivalent) to aid the cooling.

welcome to the site!

did the oil smell like gas? with that low milage, i would look clean the carbs as well as it might have had a sunk float. pilots on those are bad for plugging in any case. a good cleaning would not hurt.

fuel filters are in the tank. usually i use coat hanger to fish them out and replace them.

btw check your pm's.