• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Brand New Rider

Country
Canada
Snowmobile
2008 Yamaha Apex
Hi everyone, I am brand new to the sport of snowmobiling.

I purchased a 2008 Yamaha Apex and have been out a couple of times this season.

I have near zero knowledge of sleds and I am not mechanically inclined. I am a big boy at 320 lbs and I am finding the sled to be difficult to control. Now, I understand that being new to the sport I am going to have a lot of learning to do but I wanted to know if anyone could suggest someone in the Innisfil/Barrie area that I could go to that could look over my setup and help me identify things that would need to be adjusted for me (ie. spring compression, seat height etc.).

Thanks for taking the time to check out this thread

Hey David_2008 APEX. Welcome to the addiction and welcome to the forum. There is lots of support on this site. You will be surprised at the number of simple things that you can adjust yourself that will save $$$ and get you better understanding what the sled is doing and how it functions.

When you say "difficult to control" can you elaborate on what you are experiencing? Poor/strong acceleration, poor braking/handling/steering? Once people understand your issues they'll be better equipped to supply recos.

Hey David_2008 APEX. Welcome to the addiction and welcome to the forum. There is lots of support on this site. You will be surprised at the number of simple things that you can adjust yourself that will save $$$ and get you better understanding what the sled is doing and how it functions.

When you say "difficult to control" can you elaborate on what you are experiencing? Poor/strong acceleration, poor braking/handling/steering? Once people understand your issues they'll be better equipped to supply recos.

Hi Ateick,