• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Changing the top gear

jeffT

Pro
If i put on a 22 tooth gear........ what will change on bottom end and top end? slightly less hole shot? 5 more MPH? Id like to be able to get more top end numbers without sacrificing the gut wrenching hole shot thatt the nytro delivers. Also ......... With a 22 tooth gear, do i neeed a longer chain?

I'm no expert here by any means, but I believe you WILL get some top end. I think its around 5 MPH. I also would like to know about low and mid range. Ulmer sells a stage 2 clutch kit with a 22 tooth top gear that comes with a 70 link chain. My guess is with this kit you won't lose much at low and mid, but will gain the top end.

If your over 200 pounds gearing up won,t gain anything.
On a good point you won,t spin or wheelie as much off the line.

Turk said:
If your over 200 pounds gearing up won,t gain anything.
On a good point you won,t spin or wheelie as much off the line.

So to summarize, over 200lbs there is no gain AND you will lose some low end?