• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Complete Newbie Perspective

TonyD

Veteran
I am a brand new owner of an Apex MTN SE. The only time I have spent on any sled has been with 500 CC 2 stroke sleds with short tracks, and then only for a day trip / as a rental.

Day one ride: Tried to climb a mountain during a snow blizzard, and an invisible giant pulled the front end to the left and I nose dived into the powder. I have been broken-in! :Rockon:

Ride two: Spent time on the flats rocking the boat and making waves in the deep powder. Adjusted the rear suspension to carry my 200 lb arse over the bumps. I can now do sweeping turns! (Not what I would call "carving.") :o|

Ride three: Rode 45 miles of mostly off trail powder, with plenty of hill climbs and the occasional small jump. Did not get stuck once. (Always came to a stop facing downhill.) I now have 100 miles on the OD. ;)!

Ride four: This next weekend. Hope to practice my turns until I can actually "carve" instead of making a quarter mile sweep. This is my biggest weakness.

Any newbie advice you might share with me? Anyone here located in the SLC, Utah area?

Carve in an flat open area if possible. Your bound to fall off a few times and you dont want the sled heading for trees. Start small just leaning from side to side standing up. Then try sitting down if you want. when I carve I turn my skis the opposite way Im carving.

mtnkid said:
Carve in an flat open area if possible. Your bound to fall off a few times and you dont want the sled heading for trees. Start small just leaning from side to side standing up. Then try sitting down if you want. when I carve I turn my skis the opposite way Im carving.

He, he, I am giving a whole new meaning to the term "powder puff", believe me!
:jump: