• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Simmons Flex Ski Installation

1bad442

I got my Simmons skis and am planning on putting them on this weekend prior to my first ride on my GT. Since the sled is brand new, is it OK to just bolt them on? Do I need to worry about their alignment since the sled is brand new and has never been used? How easy is it to install them as I have never done this before? It looks like one bolt through each ski. Also, where is a safe place to jack up the sled from the front?
Thanks for the help. Can't wait to ride after reading all of your reports. Sort of expecting to shred those wheels though. Maybe I got part of the good batch. PowerMadd Handguards going on prior to first ride too.

Steve

Yep U need to make your ski's parrallel to each other. Measure from the front accross, then measure accross the back.......should B the same. Right now you should have the front 1/8 more wider than the back, change it 2 B the same.

;)!

Attachments

• DSC01593.JPG
    DSC01593.JPG
    160 KB · Views: 136
1bad442,
I've had Simmons Skis for several years now and am very happy with them. However, they did wear prematurely on the front part of the carbide. Bergstrom Skegs out of Illinois offers a shim kit to help solve this. It's very simple to install. You can call Scott @ (815) 654-2950. He'll explain all to you and save you a chunk of change over time.
Also, installation is simple if you have the Yamaha mounting kit (which I assume you do). Simply jack up the front and replace. If your sled is an '06 model you'll need a shorter bolt by about an inch as the stock one is too long for the Simmons. Good luck.

Apexaholic said:
Measured mine they were out 1/4" front to back.
This could have alot to do with my darting issues?
I hope the hell so.
Ill try what you posted Bounty Hunter. Thanks.