• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

ski lift when turning question

Vermonter

Veteran
Ok so I need some help from the experienced riders here. I'm new to trail riding and this is my second season. I have only about 1500 miles under my belt. The only real problem I have with my 07 Phazer gt is the ski likes to lift up in tight turns. I do hang off the side of the sled to help with turning but I still can't seem to keep both ski's down when riding aggressively. I have stock ski's. Is this just the nature of the beast or can I change something to make it handle better? Is it just normal trail conditions? I know the design of the Phazer makes it more tippy than other models but I'm hoping someone here may know a way to make it less tippy.

07's were tippier than the newer ones - i think if you pull you limiter strap in one hole that will help. my 07 had a lot of inside ski lift even with aftermarket skis - my 09 has very little ski lift, but i have the limiter pulled in on that as well and i run medium pressure in my shocks.

If you are lifting the inside ski then your skis are doing the job. Usually people suffer from too much push in the corners. 3 ways to reduce lift, first tighten up the front strap in the skid. 2nd, reduce the spring preload on the front (center) skid shock. 3rd, increase the spring preload on the ski shocks. If you are happy with the ride quality and don't bottom out excessively then option 2 is your best bet. If the ski lift isn't too excessive then leave it alone, the sled will corner the best with the inside ski lifting SLIGHTY.

I kinda like a little, but predictable ski lift. Like said above, your sled is working/steering if it's lifting the ski.