• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

06 Apex mtn mcx build.

le700

Expert
Hi. I just ordered a mcx 290 kit for my 06 apex mountain. I ordered with clutch weights, snorkel and mcx display. Do i need anything else? Will the mcx clutching be good enough?

I plan on putting the kit on myself. I'm not an expert mechanic, but i have done quite a lot of stuff on cars and other snowmobiles so i guess i'll be alright there.
One thing i wonder about is: will there be a new cam gear included, or will i have to modify the old one (i.e thicker head gasket..)?

Any other thoughts will be appreciated..

You grind/slot your old intake cam sprocket after installing the new headgasket/headshim. MCX install manual that comes with the kit takes you through it.

Thanks. I found the mcx manual in rxriders thread. It's a bit of work, but hopefully i'll manage.
I'm a bit worried that i'll grind to much, or uneven, but guess i should start of with a round file carefully..

Thanks a lot TT.

Does anyone know of a good clutch setup that will work? Will the mcx weights be sufficient? Is a shockwave adjustable helix a must have?
It's a stock geared 06 mountain with reverse (as it was standard here in norway in 06) and a 260/290 mcx rear mount kit, and i would like tips about proven stuff that work well without excessive belt wear.

Got the kit a while ago. I have started to take the sled apart.
A few more questions have popped up.
- When the oil filter adapter is removed with the nut tool (m20x1,5), how do you fasten the new oil filter adapter? If you use the nut tool on the new oil filter adapter, then you would break the threads on it... The manual only says to install it, it does not specify how to do it.