• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

PLEASE BE SAFE OUT THERE!!!!!

Mileage Quest

Expert
Country
USA
Snowmobile
'12 Apex X-TX
As a safety professional I want to bring to light the fact snowmobiling can be dangerous in many ways!!! Please post up your close calls or links to stories about snowmobile deaths... this way fellow riders have a sense of the impact snowmobiling can have on ones families and loved ones... Lets all get home SAFE!!!

We all have stories about sketchy situations we’ve been through on our sleds... I’ll bring to light the two major situations I’ve encountered...

First one was about ten years ago when in early January my group decided to ride across Portage Lake from Dreamland to Chassell... Might I mention I didn’t really want to... I felt I had no choice because the group I was riding with was going and I didn’t feel comfortable going around by myself (peer pressure)... It was dark when we left Dreamland... all I remember them saying was wait a full minute so you let the dust settle and you can see our taillights... Once you get on the lake pinch it and if our lights disappear... turn around!!! We got aways out and all I remember thinking was where are the fish houses... that’s when the fear really set in!!! We all made it but thinking back what would have happened if I blew a belt and had to stop on shady ice or worse yet found open water!!! My loved ones wouldn’t even know what truely happened!!! I doubt anyone would have known what happened to us that night!!!