• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

2009 Nytro Front End+ Rebuild

Hooray!

TY 4 Stroke Junkie
Country
USA
Snowmobile
2009 Yamaha FX Nytro XTX
1998 Yamaha VMAX 700 XTC
First I want to thank everyone for the fantastic information posted here, great resource to learn from each other's experiences, good, bad and ugly. I have been riding a 1998 700 VMAX XTC for ten years, love the redhead triple, always makes me smile but excited about this winter and a 2009 FX Nytro XTX. I have been reading threads here since December when my brother in law suggested he was selling it in the spring at a price I could not pass up. First order of business is rebuilding the front end, I considered the MoutainTech replacement A-arms but that is outside my budget, have less than $1000 to work with for this year including front end, skis, carbides, tunnel supports, tank bag, rear bag and HIDs.

A few questions:

1. FRONT END PARTS: What front end parts were improved on later model year nytros that will work on my 2009? I am going with the Ulmer Racing bushings and potentially the UP Bushman spindles and the balance stock Yamaha parts. Is there an improvement going with the 2013 three piece ball joint vs. the 2009 on piece ball joint (see pic) and using the revised collar in the upper A-arm as I plan to install some grease fittings on my 2009 era upper A-arms? Plus any other parts in the front end that I should consider aftermarket or a different year. A friend powder coated my A-arms, spindles and bumpers so front end will be murdered out when done.